< June >
About the NWTTA Teaching in the NWT Publications FAQs
 Print this page   
3 2 1

School Board            

Yellowknife Catholic Schools (YCS), a public denominational school board, is located in the capital city of Yellowknife, NT and serves close to 1,320 students. YCS’s 109 NWTTA members include teachers and school administrators. These members are governed under a collective agreement with the Yellowknife Catholic School Board.

Yellowknife Catholic Schools
P.O. Box 1830; 5124 - 49th Street
Yellowknife, NT, Canada X1A 2P4
Phone: (867) 766-7400; Fax: (867) 766-7401
Website: ycs.nt.ca

NOTE: Yellowknife is home to two NWTTA Regions, Yellowknife Catholic Schools (YCS) and Yellowknife Education District No. 1 (YK1). Within these regions YK1 and YCS operate two individual School Boards similar to the Government of the Northwest Territories’ Divisional Education Councils (DECs) located in the regions outside of Yellowknife. 

In addition, Yellowknife is home to an GNWT Franchophone Divisional Education Council (DEC) - commission scolaire francophone des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (CSF, TNO). This DEC is not recognized as an individual NWTTA Region.

CSF, TNO operates two schools within the Northwest Territories. NWTTA members at École Boréale in Hay River and École Allain St-Cyr in Yellowknife provide quality French first language programming to close to 200 francophone students. These NWTTA members are part of the NWTTA’s South Slave and Tlicho Regions, respectively.

Commission scolaire francophone des Territoires du Nord-Ouest; 4920 51e rue, C.P 1980; Yellowknife; NT; Canada; X1A 2P5; Tél : (867) 873-6555; Fax : (867) 873-5644; Site web : www.csftno.com

Yellowknife Catholic Schools
Yellowknife , NT - Population 19,256

  • École St. Joseph School (K-8 English; K-8 French Immersion) - 28 NWTTA Members
  • Address: P.O. Box 728; X1A 2N5
  • Phone: 867-920-2112

  • École St. Patrick High School (9-12 English; 9-12 French Immersion) - 32 NWTTA Members (Includes Kimberlite Career and Technical Centre)
  • Address: P.O. Box 2880; X1A 2R2
  • Phone: 867-873-4888

  • Weledeh Catholic School (K-8) - 31 NWTTA Members
  • Address: P.O. Box 1650; X1A 2P2
  • Phone: 867-873-5591
NOTE: This map identifies the eight NWTTA Regions within the Northwest Territories. These differ from regions for the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Divisional Education Councils (DECs)/School Boards.